ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 1 May 1997
Back Next Lagan Valley
County Constituency Ulster Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 71,225 8 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

Seamus Close  Alliance Lozenge   7,635   17.23%   Elected   
Stuart Sexton  Conservative Lozenge   1,212   2.74%   Lost deposit   
Edwin Poots  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   6,005   13.55%   Not Elected   
Hugh Finlay  Natural Law Lozenge   149   0.34%   Lost deposit   
Dolores Kelly  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   3,436   7.75%   Not Elected   
Sue Ramsey  Sinn Féin Lozenge   1,110   2.51%   Lost deposit   
Jeffrey Donaldson  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   24,560   55.43%   Not Elected    1
Frances McCarthy  Workers' Lozenge   203   0.46%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 44,310 62.21%

Majority  Alliance 6,423 14.50%

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 20-Oct-17 03:16 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann