ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 1 May 1997
Back Next Londonderry East
County Constituency Co Londonderry Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 58,831 8 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* William Ross  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   13,558   35.58%   Elected    1

Gregory Campbell  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   9,764   25.63%   Not Elected   
Arthur Doherty  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   8,273   21.71%   Not Elected   
Malachy O'Kane  Sinn Féin Lozenge   3,463   9.09%   Not Elected   
Yvonne Boyle  Alliance Lozenge   2,427   6.37%   Not Elected   
James Holmes  Conservative Lozenge   436   1.14%   Lost deposit   
Clare Gallen  Natural Law Lozenge   100   0.26%   Lost deposit   
Ian Anderson  National Democrat Lozenge   81   0.21%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 38,102 64.77%

Majority  Ulster Unionist 3,794 9.96%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 16-Jun-19 01:47 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann