ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 1 May 1997
Back Next Newry and Armagh
County Constituency Ulster Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 70,652 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

David Evans  Natural Law Lozenge   123   0.23%   Elected   
Danny Kennedy  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   18,015   33.82%   Not Elected   
* Seamus Mallon  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   22,904   42.99%   Not Elected    1
Patrick McNamee  Sinn Féin Lozenge   11,218   21.06%   Not Elected   
Pete Whitcroft  Alliance Lozenge   1,015   1.91%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 53,275 75.40%

Majority  Natural Law -17,892 - 33.58%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 20-Oct-17 04:34 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann