ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 1 May 1997
Back Next Strangford
County Constituency Co Down Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 69,980 7 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* John Taylor  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   18,431   44.29%   Elected    1

Iris Robinson  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   12,579   30.22%   Not Elected   
Kieran McCarthy2  Alliance Lozenge   5,467   13.14%   Not Elected   
Peter O'Reilly  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   2,775   6.67%   Not Elected   
Gilbert Chalk  Conservative Lozenge   1,743   4.19%   Lost deposit   
Garret O Fachtna  Sinn Féin Lozenge   503   1.21%   Lost deposit   
Sarah Mullins  Natural Law Lozenge   121   0.29%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 41,619 59.47%

Majority  Ulster Unionist 5,852 14.06%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 24-Mar-19 09:20 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann