ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 1 May 1997
Back Next Ulster Mid
County Constituency Ulster Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 58,836 6 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

Martin McGuinness  Sinn Féin Lozenge   20,294   40.05%   Elected    1

* Rev Dr William McCrea  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   18,411   36.34%   Not Elected   
Denis Haughey  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   11,205   22.11%   Not Elected   
Ephrem Bogues  Alliance Lozenge   460   0.91%   Lost deposit   
Marian Donnelly  Workers' Lozenge   238   0.47%   Lost deposit   
Maureen Murray  Natural Law Lozenge   61   0.12%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 50,669 86.12%

Majority  Sinn Féin 1,883 3.72%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Mar-19 11:06 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann