ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster By Election: 21 September 2000
Aondroma Theas
Back Next Antrim South
County Constituency Co Antrim Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 71,047 6 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

Rev Dr William McCrea  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   11,601   37.95%   Elected    1

David Burnside  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   10,779   35.26%   Not Elected   
Donovan McClelland  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   3,496   11.44%   Not Elected   
Martin Meehan  Sinn Féin Lozenge   2,611   8.54%   Not Elected   
David Ford  Alliance Lozenge   2,031   6.64%   Not Elected   
David Collins2  Natural Law Lozenge   49   0.16%   Lost deposit   

Total valid 30,567 43.02%

Spoilt votes 123 0.40%

Total poll 30,690 43.20%

Majority  Democratic Unionist 822 2.69%

By election caused by death on 27 April 2000 of Clifford Forsythe.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

DUP gain from UUP
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-Apr-19 05:23 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann