ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election: 5 June 2009
Baile Atha Cliath Theas
Back Next Dublin South
Dublin Area (Leinster)

1 Seat 8 Candidates 1 Count
Electorate: 90,802 Quota: 26,019
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

George Lee  Fine Gael Lozenge   27,768   53.36%   1.07   1      Made Quota     1

Alex White  Labour Lozenge   10,294   19.78%   0.40   (1)      Not Elected    
Shay Brennan  Fianna Fail Lozenge   9,250   17.78%   0.36   (1)      Not Elected    
Elizabeth Davidson  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   1,846   3.55%   0.07   (1)      No expenses*    
Shaun Tracey  Sinn Féin Lozenge   1,705   3.28%   0.07   (1)      No expenses*    
Ross O'Mullane  Non party/Independent Lozenge   650   1.25%   0.02   (1)      No expenses*    
Frank O'Gorman  Non party/Independent Lozenge   351   0.67%   0.01   (1)      No expenses*    
Noel O'Gara  Non party/Independent Lozenge   172   0.33%   0.01   (1)      No expenses*    

Total valid 52,036 57.31%

Spoilt votes 443 0.84%

Total poll 52,479 57.79%

By election caused by death on 9 July 2008 of Seamus Brennan.

Result declared at 3:50pm on 6 June 2009.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

*Under the Electoral (Amendment) Act 2007 §48(1)(e)(ii), a qualified candidate is entitled to apply for a reimbursement of election expenses. In order to qualify for a reimbursement, a candidate must either be elected or, if not elected, have exceeded one quarter of what would have been the quota in that constituency were the full number of members of the Dáil for the constituency to be elected.
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 26-May-19 12:41 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Dun Laoghaire Dublin South East Dublin South Dublin South West Dublin Mid West Dublin South Central Dublin Central Dublin North Central Dublin West Dublin North West Dublin North East Dublin North Kildare North Meath Wicklow