ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Tipperary North
Tiobraid Arann Thuaidh
Tipperary Area (Munster)

3 Seats 8 Candidates 3 Counts
Electorate: 63,235 Quota: 12,069
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Michael Lowry1 Snr  Non party/Independent Lozenge   14,104   29.22%   1.17   1      Made Quota     1   ♂
* Noel J Coonan  Fine Gael Lozenge   11,425   23.67%   0.95   2      Made Quota     2   ♂
Alan Kelly  Labour Lozenge   9,559   19.80%   0.79   3      Elected     3   ♂

* Maire Hoctor  Fianna Fail Lozenge   7,978   16.53%   0.66   (3)      Not Elected     ♀  
Seamus Morris  Sinn Féin Lozenge   3,034   6.29%   0.25   (2)      Eliminated       ♂
Billy Clancy  Non Party/New Vision Lozenge   1,442   2.99%   0.12   (2)      No expenses       ♂
Olwyn O'Malley  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   409   0.85%   0.03   (2)      No expenses     ♀  
Kate Bopp  Non party/Independent Lozenge   322   0.67%   0.03   (2)      No expenses     ♀  

Total valid 48,273 76.34%

Spoilt votes 516 1.06%

Total poll 48,789 77.16%

* outgoing TD (3)
Final votes required for expenses: 3,018
Candidates: 3 female (♀), 5 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘Lowry’s vote hits record high’

Parts of South West Offaly, with a population of 4,276, were transferred to this three seat constituency since 2007. It included Moneygal, the ancestral Offaly home of the US President Barack Obama.

There was a familiar pattern to the headline result here though. Michael Lowry may not bask in the approval of the Moriarty Tribunal or the national media, but if anything that seems to increase the loyalty of his supporters in Tipperary North. Lowry headed the poll, as he has done at every election since he became an Independent in 1997, and pushed his vote total to a new record high. He won 14,104 first preference votes. This was a 29% share of the vote. Just to rub it in, it was his surplus that took incumbent Fine Gael TD Noel Coonan into the second seat.

Fianna Fail had taken 2 of the 3 seats here as recently as 2002, but the odds were against it holding even one in 2011. Máire Hoctor, seen as one of the dissidents after Brian Cowen dropped her from her junior ministerial post in April 2009, had the advantage of being the party’s sole candidate, and she did not do badly; she increased her personal vote, and the swing away from Fianna Fail, at a mere 17.8 per cent, was one of the smallest in the country. However, that was not enough.

For Labour, Kathleen O’Meara had stepped aside after mounting strong challenges in 1997, 2002 and 2007, and the party standard-bearer now was former Senator Alan Kelly. He had left the Seanad in 2009 to run in the European Parliament elections in 2009. He was elected as MEP for the South constituency. Although he vowed in that campaign not to contest the next General Election, a request from the party leader was enough to lure him home. He nearly doubled the party’s vote share and took the final seat over 2,000 votes ahead of Hoctor. His European Parliament seat remained within Tipperary, passing on to Clonmel-based Phil Prendergast.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 13-Apr-24 08:05 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East