ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Kerry North Limerick West


Kerry Area (Munster)

3 Seats 11 Candidates 7 Counts
Electorate: 63,614 Quota: 11,404
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

° Jimmy Deenihan  Fine Gael Lozenge   12,304   26.97%   1.08   1      Made Quota     1   ♂
Arthur J Spring  Labour Lozenge   9,159   20.08%   0.80   7      Made Quota     2   ♂
° Martin Ferris  Sinn Féin Lozenge   9,282   20.35%   0.81   7      Made Quota     3   ♂

John Sheahan1  Fine Gael Lozenge   6,295   13.80%   0.55   (7)      Not Elected       ♂
° Tom McEllistrim3  Fianna Fail Lozenge   5,230   11.47%   0.46   (6)      Eliminated       ♂
Bridget O'Brien  Non party/Independent Lozenge   1,455   3.19%   0.13   (5)      No expenses     ♀  
Mary Fitzgibbon  Non party/Independent Lozenge   706   1.55%   0.06   (4)      No expenses     ♀  
Sam Locke  Non party/Independent Lozenge   486   1.07%   0.04   (4)      No expenses       ♂
Mick Reidy  Non Party/New Vision Lozenge   357   0.78%   0.03   (3)      No expenses       ♂
Tom Donovan  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   239   0.52%   0.02   (2)      No expenses       ♂
John McKenna2  Non party/Independent Lozenge   101   0.22%   0.01   (2)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 45,614 71.70%

Spoilt votes 413 0.90%

Total poll 46,027 72.35%

° outgoing TD for a different area (3)
Final votes required for expenses: 2,852
Candidates: 2 female (♀), 9 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘Dynasty change sees Spring in as McEllistrim loses out’

A significantly redrawn constituency, with about 4,000 voters around Castleisland being moved into Kerry South and around 10,000 voters from west Limerick finding themselves part of this constituency.

Only one of the candidates was from the Limerick part of the constituency, John Sheahan from Glin, and he was the surprise of the election, polling a very strong fourth. In a three-seater that’s not quite good enough, though, and this was one of the most predictable constituencies in the country.

The collapse of Fianna Fáil support nationally meant that Tom McEllistrim really had no chance of retaining his seat. The third of the dynasty to hold a seat here, like his father and grandfather — both also called Tom — he tended to concentrate on the grassroots rather than hold forth in the Dáil chamber or to the media.

The other two incumbents were comfortably re-elected. Jimmy Deenihan, now a cabinet minister, has firmly established himself as the dominant figure in the constituency, and has led Fine Gael to heights (41% of the votes) that it has never before reached in Kerry. Martin Ferris of Sinn Féin, having been first elected in 2002, has been reasonably secure at subsequent elections.

The newcomer was Labour’s Arthur Spring who, with a little help from his uncle Dick, nearly doubled the party vote from its 2007 base, and he took Tom McEllistrim’s seat. Extraordinarily, there has been both a Spring and a McEllistrim on the ballot paper at all but one (2007) of the last twenty-one elections. The Spring dynasty dates only to 1943, twenty years after the first Tom McEllistrim was elected, but for the moment the Springs are in and the McEllistrims are out.

   ©1998-2023 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 11-Dec-23 08:32 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East