ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Meath West


An Mhi Thiar
Meath Area (Leinster)

3 Seats 13 Candidates 5 Counts
Electorate: 62,776 Quota: 10,045
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Damien English  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,290   23.12%   0.92   3      Made Quota     1   ♂
Peadar Tóibín  Sinn Féin Lozenge   6,989   17.40%   0.70   5      Elected     2   ♂
Ray Butler  Fine Gael Lozenge   5,262   13.10%   0.52   5      Elected     3   ♂

Jenny McHugh  Labour Lozenge   5,432   13.52%   0.54   (5)      Not Elected     ♀  
* Johnny Brady  Fianna Fail Lozenge   3,789   9.43%   0.38   (4)      Eliminated       ♂
Catherine Yore  Fine Gael Lozenge   3,898   9.70%   0.39   (3)      Eliminated     ♀  
Shane Cassells  Fianna Fail Lozenge   3,496   8.70%   0.35   (2)      Eliminated       ♂
Fiona Irwin  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   479   1.19%   0.05   (1)      No expenses     ♀  
Stephen Ball  Non party/Independent Lozenge   475   1.18%   0.05   (1)      No expenses       ♂
Daithi Stephens  Non party/Independent Lozenge   387   0.96%   0.04   (1)      No expenses     ♀  
Ronan Carolan  Non party/Independent Lozenge   258   0.64%   0.03   (1)      No expenses       ♂
Manus MacMeanmain  Comhar Criostai/Christian Solidarity Lozenge   234   0.58%   0.02   (1)      No expenses       ♂
Seamus McDonagh  Workers' Lozenge   189   0.47%   0.02   (1)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 40,178 64.00%

Spoilt votes 413 1.02%

Total poll 40,591 64.66%

* outgoing TD (2)
Final votes required for expenses: 2,512
Candidates: 4 female (♀), 9 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘Another blank for Fianna Fáil as Fine Gael gain and Sinn Fein make a breakthrough’

This constituency was created before the 2007 general election and it formed the western part of the old five-seat Meath constituency. There have also been major Constituency Commission changes here since 2007. A population of 6,776 in the Kells area has been transferred out to Meath East. The number of seats remained the same with three TDs returned.

The Fine Gael vote was up 17 points and with 1.8 quotas it was on track for two seats. Outgoing deputy Damien English comfortably topped the poll, well clear of his nearest rivals and he went on to take the first seat on the third count. Newcomer Ray Butler was outside the frame on the first count, just 170 votes behind Labour’s Jenny McHugh but he won the transfer battle, in particular with the help of 55% of running mate Yore’s transfers. The third Fine Gael candidate Catherine Yore would be disappointed with her performance as she had been fancied for a seat and had to settle for her transfers electing her running mate.

The Labour vote was up 9 points and with half a quota Jenny McHugh was in the frame in third place on the first count. She was just ahead of Fine Gael’s Ray Butler but Fine Gael had too much of an advantage and she was duly overtaken and lost the battle for the final seat by a margin of 1,128 votes.

This was another poor performance by Fianna Fáil with its vote down a massive 33 points, their second largest loss of support in this election and they lost their two outgoing seats. Long-serving TD and senior Minister Noel Dempsey retired and Fianna Fáil decided to replace him with 2005 by-election candidate Shane Cassells. Outgoing deputy Johnny Brady did poorly and was well off the pace on the first count and never recovered. Cassells had a similar performance and this division of a depleted Fianna Fáil vote left them with no chance of a seat. This was another example of Fianna Fáil fielding too many candidates.

This was another breakthrough in this election for Sinn Féin with their vote up 6 points to 0.7 of a quota. Peadar Tóibín was in second place on the first count, well clear of his nearest rivals and he went on to win the second seat on the fifth and final count for an impressive performance. Joe Reilly had done well here for Sinn Féin in 2007 when he was the last candidate standing. His strong performance was a forerunner to Tóibín’s success in 2011.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 24-Feb-24 04:19 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East