ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Dublin North Central
Baile Atha Cliath Thuaidh Lar
Dublin Area (Leinster)

3 Seats 9 Candidates 7 Counts
Electorate: 52,992 Quota: 9,694
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Richard Bruton  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,685   24.98%   1.00   2      Made Quota     1   ♂
Aodhán Ó Ríordáin  Labour Lozenge   8,731   22.52%   0.90   4      Made Quota     2   ♂
* Finian McGrath  Non party/Independent Lozenge   5,986   15.44%   0.62   7      Made Quota     3   ♂

Naoise O Muiri  Fine Gael Lozenge   4,959   12.79%   0.51   (7)      Not Elected       ♂
* Seán Haughey  Fianna Fail Lozenge   5,017   12.94%   0.52   (6)      Eliminated       ♂
Helen McCormack  Sinn Féin Lozenge   2,140   5.52%   0.22   (3)      Eliminated     ♀  
John Lyons4  People Before Profit Alliance Lozenge   1,424   3.67%   0.15   (2)      No expenses       ♂
Donna Cooney  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   501   1.29%   0.05   (1)      No expenses     ♀  
Paul Clarke  Non party/Independent Lozenge   331   0.85%   0.03   (1)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 38,774 73.17%

Spoilt votes 413 1.05%

Total poll 39,187 73.95%

* outgoing TD (3)
Final votes required for expenses: 2,424
Candidates: 2 female (♀), 7 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘The end of the Haughey dynasty as Fianna Fail draw another blank in a Dublin constituency’

The Constituency Commission made a boundary revision here since 2007 with a population of 2,758 in the Edenmore electoral division transferring in from Dublin North East. However, the constituency did retain its three seats.

The Fine Gael vote was up 12 points since 2007 and with 1.5 quotas they were in contention for two seats. Richard Bruton topped the poll and was just 9 votes short of the quota on the first count. His running mate Naoise Ó Muirí was just outside the frame in fourth place with half a quota and failed to make up his first count deficit of over 1,000 votes on outgoing independent TD Finian McGrath.

Labour had won a seat here in 1992 and 1997 but lost it in 2002 and failed again in 2007. The party made no mistake in this election with Aodháin O Riordáin taking second place with 0.9 of a quota on the first count as he increased the Labour vote by 15 points for an impressive performance.

This was another disastrous performance by Fianna Fáil with their vote down 31 points, their seventh largest loss of support in this election. Sean Haughey did poorly and with just 0.5 quotas was in fourth place on the first count, just ahead of O Muiri. He failed to make any headway during the count and was overtaken by the Fine Gael man and was finally eliminated on the sixth count with his transfers ensuring McGrath’s election. So this election marked the end of an era in Irish politics with the Haughey name missing from Dáil Eireann for the first time since 1957.

Outgoing Independent deputy Finian McGrath was in third place on the first count and went on to hold off Ó Muírí for the final seat by the very comfortable margin of 4,626 votes.

The turnout was up five points in this constituency and at 73.17% was five points above the Dublin turnout of 68.20%.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 12-Jun-24 03:15 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Dun Laoghaire Dublin South East Dublin South Dublin South West Dublin Mid West Dublin South Central Dublin Central Dublin North Central Dublin West Dublin North West Dublin North East Dublin North Kildare North Meath Wicklow