ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election: 23 May 2014
An Longfort An Lar Mhi
Back Next Longford Westmeath


Longford Westmeath Area (Leinster)

1 Seat 9 Candidates 7 Counts
Electorate: 87,999 Quota: 24,502
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Gabrielle McFadden  Fine Gael Lozenge   12,365   25.23%   0.50   7      Elected     1

Aengus O'Rourke  Fianna Fail Lozenge   8,910   18.18%   0.36   (7)      Not Elected    
Paul Hogan  Sinn Féin Lozenge   7,548   15.40%   0.31   (6)      Eliminated    
Kevin Moran  Non party/Independent Lozenge   5,629   11.49%   0.23   (5)      Eliminated    
James Morgan2  Non party/Independent Lozenge   5,959   12.16%   0.24   (4)      Eliminated    
Brian Fagan  Non party/Independent Lozenge   4,195   8.56%   0.17   (3)      Eliminated    
Denis Leonard  Labour Lozenge   3,290   6.71%   0.13   (2)      Eliminated    
John McNamara  Non party/Independent Lozenge   869   1.77%   0.04   (1)      No expenses*    
Donal Jackson  Non party/Independent Lozenge   238   0.49%   0.01   (1)      No expenses*    

Total valid 49,003 55.69%

Spoilt votes 1,492 2.95%

Total poll 50,495 57.38%

By election caused by death on 25 March 2014 of Nicky McFadden.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

*Under the Electoral (Amendment) Act 2007 §48(1)(e)(ii), a qualified candidate is entitled to apply for a reimbursement of election expenses. In order to qualify for a reimbursement, a candidate must either be elected or, if not elected, have exceeded one quarter of what would have been the quota in that constituency were the full number of members of the Dáil for the constituency to be elected.
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 20-May-19 09:36 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East