ElectionsIreland.org Home Page Local Elections Contents Page
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

Changes since 1960

When an existing member resigns or dies, a member is co-opted to replace them. By convention, someone from the same party is co-opted, although the controlling group on the council may appoint whomever they wish. There is no provision for local authority by-elections. Ministers of State have usually relinquished their council seats on appointment.

Council   Date   LEA Party  Fate  Co-opted Relationship Outgoing Reason
Sligo   ?? 1960 Dromore Peter Barrett    Thomas Flynn1 unknown reason
Sligo   ?? 1960 Dromore Ernie Caffrey  Francis Higgins Died
Sligo   ?? 1960 Ballymote * Thomas Collery    Michael McDonagh1 Died
Sligo   ?? 1960 Sligo James Feighney  Joseph Roddy Died 3 October 1965
Sligo   ?? 1960 Ballymote Tommy Lavin    Edward Boles Died
Sligo   ?? 1960 Ballymote John Tighe  Patrick Rogers Died 22 March 1963

*Co-opted member not re-elected at subsequent election
¶Co-opted member who didn't stand at subsequent election
§Co-opted member who stood in a different area at subsequent election

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

Reasons for Vacancies

   ©1998-2022 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 27-Nov-22 05:16 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address: