ElectionsIreland.org Home Page Local Elections Contents Page
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

Changes since 1999

When an existing member resigns or dies, a member is co-opted to replace them. By convention, someone from the same party is co-opted, although the controlling group on the council may appoint whomever they wish. There is no provision for local authority by-elections. Ministers of State have usually relinquished their council seats on appointment.

Following the 1999 local elections, legislation was introduced to abolish the 'dual mandate' where TDs and Senators also served as local councillors (Local Government (No2) Act 2003). Anyone holding a dual mandate qualified for a one-off payment if they resigned their council seat.

Nearly all TDs and Senators took advantage of this offer, and this accounts for the majority of the changes in local authority representation between 1999 and 2004.

Council   Date   LEA Party  Fate  Co-opted Relationship Outgoing Reason
Monaghan   ?? 2000 Clones Eugene McCaughey  Dr Seamus Clarke unknown reason
Monaghan   ?? 2000 Monaghan Donal Sherry  Owen Smyth unknown reason
Drogheda Borough Council   ?? 2000 Drogheda No 3 Duleek Gate * Finian Branigan  Patsy Kirwan1 unknown reason
Clare   ?? 2000 Kilkee P J Lardner  Seamus Clancy Died 30 November 2002
Cork   ?? 2000 Bandon Liz O'Brien  wife of Domie O'Brien2 Died December 2002
Cork   ?? 2000 Bantry Letty Baker  Seán Baker unknown reason
Offaly   ?? 2000 Birr Ann Hynes Spain  Peter Hynes Died December 2001
Clare   ?? 2000 Kilrush * Morgan Roughan  George Harratt Died
Offaly   ?? 2000 Tullamore * Anne Starling  Pat Gallagher2 unknown reason
Monaghan   ?? 2000 Castleblayney Michael Marray  Paul Mulligan unknown reason
Wexford   23 April 2001 Enniscorthy Patrick Kavanagh3  Ivan Yates unknown reason
Wexford   ?? 2002 Enniscorthy Fiacre Ryan  John Browne2 unknown reason
Kerry   2 September 2002 Tralee * Risteard O Fuarain  Martin Ferris Dual Mandate TD
Meath   November 2002 Kells Seán Drew  Kieran Flanagan Died
Wexford   April 2003 Enniscorthy Noreen Sheridan  Martin Sheehan unknown reason
Carlow Kilkenny   Autumn 2003 Carlow * Wayne Fennell  Fergal Browne Dual Mandate Senator
Kildare   Autumn 2003 Athy Aoife Breslin  Jack Wall Dual Mandate TD
Cork   Autumn 2003 Mallow Seán Sherlock  son of Joe Sherlock Dual Mandate TD 10 September 2007
Mayo   Autumn 2003 Castlebar Brendan Henaghan  Paddy Burke Dual Mandate Senator
Drogheda Borough Council   Autumn 2003 Drogheda No 3 Duleek Gate Anthony Donohoe1  Fergus O'Dowd Dual Mandate TD
Tipperary North Riding   ?? 2004 Nenagh * Jack White  Tom Ryan1 unknown reason

*Co-opted member not re-elected at subsequent election
¶Co-opted member who didn't stand at subsequent election
§Co-opted member who stood in a different area at subsequent election

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

Reasons for Vacancies

   ©1998-2023 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 06-Dec-23 05:03 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address: