ElectionsIreland.org Home Page
Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster
 ElectionsIreland.org > Results > President > Membership of the Council of State

Membership of the Council of State

The Constitution provides for a Council of State to aid and counsel the President on all matters on which the President may consult them. The circumstances when the President must consult the Council of State are specified in the Constitution.

  1. Ex-Officio Members
    (Article 31.2.i of the Constitution)

    • The Taoiseach (Prime Minster)
    • The Tánaiste (Deputy Prime Minister)
    • The Chief Justice
    • The President of the High Court
    • The Chairman of Dáil Éireann (House of Representatives)
    • The Chairman of Seanad Éireann (Senate)
    • The Attorney General

  2. Persons who have held certain offices
    (Article 31.2.ii of the Constitution)

    • President
    • Taoiseach
    • Chief Justice
    • President of the Executive Council of Saorstát Éireann

    subject to their being able and willing to act

  3. Persons appointed by the President
    (Articles 31.2.iii and 31.3 of the Constitution)

Members of the Council of State:

©1998-2023 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-Mar-23 06:35 PM Twitter button logo IP Address: