ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 8 October 1959
Back Next Belfast West
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 73,405 3 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Florence McLaughlin  Unionist Lozenge   28,898   54.14%   Elected    1

John Brennan3  Independent Labour Lozenge   20,062   37.59%   Not Elected   
Thomas Heenan  Sinn Féin Lozenge   4,416   8.27%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 53,376 72.71%

Majority  Unionist 8,836 16.55%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Sep-17 07:44 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East