ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 1 May 1997
Back Next Belfast West
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 61,785 6 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

Gerry Adams  Sinn Féin Lozenge   25,662   55.93%   Elected    1

* Joe Hendron  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   17,753   38.69%   Not Elected   
Frederick Parkinson  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   1,556   3.39%   Lost deposit   
John Lowry  Workers' Lozenge   721   1.57%   Lost deposit   
Professor Liam Kennedy  Human Rights '97 Lozenge   102   0.22%   Lost deposit   
Mary Daly  Natural Law Lozenge   91   0.20%   Lost deposit   

Total poll 45,885 74.27%

Majority  Sinn Féin 7,909 17.24%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2017 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Oct-17 12:16 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann