ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 7 June 2001
Back Next Foyle
County Constituency Co Londonderry Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 70,943 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* John Hume  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   24,538   50.20%   Elected    1

Mitchel McLaughlin  Sinn Féin Lozenge   12,988   26.57%   Not Elected   
William Hay  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   7,414   15.17%   Not Elected   
Andrew Davidson  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   3,360   6.87%   Not Elected   
Colm Cavanagh  Alliance Lozenge   579   1.18%   Lost deposit   

Total valid 48,879 68.90%

Spoilt votes 495 1.00%

Total poll 49,374 69.60%

Majority  Social Democrat and Labour 11,550 23.63%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 20-May-19 09:24 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann