Previous Election - 1997 Home PageReturn to General Election index Next Election - 2005
Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster > Results > General Elections > Westminster > 2001

Elections to the United Kingdom Parliament held in Northern Ireland
General Election of Thursday 7 June 2001

The 2001 elections were postponed by a month due to the foot and mouth outbreak affecting large parts of the country.

There had been no boundary changes in Northern Ireland since 1997. Details of the boundaries can be found on the website for the Boundary Commission of Northern Ireland.

Changes since 1997
A by election was held on 21 September 2000 in Antrim South where the DUP gained the seat from the UUP. Former MP William McCrea won, after he had lost out in Ulster Mid in 1997 to Sinn Féin's Martin McGuinness.


By Elections

There were no by elections in Northern Ireland between the 2001 and 2005 general elections. On 18 December 2003, Jeffrey Donaldson (Lagan Valley) resigned from the Ulster Unionist Party. He joined the Democratic Unionist Party on 5 January 2004.

©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Apr-24 11:45 AM Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann