ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 7 June 2001
Back Next Down South
County Constituency Co Down Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 73,519 5 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

* Eddie McGrady  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   24,136   46.35%   Elected    1

Mick Murphy1  Sinn Féin Lozenge   10,278   19.74%   Not Elected   
Dermot Nesbitt  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   9,173   17.62%   Not Elected   
Jim Wells1  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   7,802   14.98%   Not Elected   
Betty Campbell  Alliance Lozenge   685   1.32%   Lost deposit   

Total valid 52,074 70.83%

Spoilt votes 574 1.09%

Total poll 52,648 71.61%

Majority  Social Democrat and Labour 13,858 26.61%

* outgoing MP
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-Apr-19 03:45 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann