ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster General: 5 May 2005
Back Next Belfast South
Borough Constituency Belfast Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 52,218 7 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

Alasdair McDonnell  Social Democrat and Labour Lozenge   10,339   32.28%   Elected    1

Jimmy Spratt  Democratic Unionist Lozenge   9,104   28.43%   Not Elected   
Michael McGimpsey  Ulster Unionist Lozenge   7,263   22.68%   Not Elected   
Alex Maskey  Sinn Féin Lozenge   2,882   9.00%   Not Elected   
Geraldine Rice  Alliance Lozenge   2,012   6.28%   Not Elected   
Lynda Gilby  Vote for Yourself Rainbow Dream Ticket Lozenge   235   0.73%   Lost deposit   
Patrick Lynn  Workers' Lozenge   193   0.60%   Lost deposit   

Total valid 32,028 61.34%

Spoilt votes 211 0.65%

Total poll 32,239 61.74%

Majority  Social Democrat and Labour 1,235 3.86%

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-May-19 03:33 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Tyrone West Ulster Mid Upper Bann