ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Longford Westmeath


An Longfort An Lar Mhi
Longford Westmeath Area (Leinster)

4 Seats 15 Candidates 8 Counts
Electorate: 85,918 Quota: 11,506
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Willie Penrose  Labour Lozenge   11,406   19.83%   0.99   2      Made Quota     1   ♂
* James Bannon  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,129   15.87%   0.79   6      Made Quota     2   ♂
Nicky McFadden  Fine Gael Lozenge   6,129   10.65%   0.53   8      Elected     3 ♀  
Robert Troy  Fianna Fail Lozenge   4,275   7.43%   0.37   8      Elected     4   ♂

Peter Burke2  Fine Gael Lozenge   6,629   11.52%   0.58   (8)      Not Elected       ♂
Paul Hogan  Sinn Féin Lozenge   4,339   7.54%   0.38   (7)      Eliminated       ♂
* Peter Kelly4  Fianna Fail Lozenge   3,876   6.74%   0.34   (5)      Eliminated       ♂
Kevin Moran  Non party/Independent Lozenge   3,707   6.44%   0.32   (4)      Eliminated       ♂
Mae Sexton  Labour Lozenge   3,960   6.88%   0.34   (3)      Eliminated     ♀  
* Mary O'Rourke  Fianna Fail Lozenge   3,046   5.30%   0.26   (2)      Eliminated     ♀  
John Boland4  Non party/Independent Lozenge   330   0.57%   0.03   (1)      No expenses       ♂
Siobhan Kinahan  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   309   0.54%   0.03   (1)      No expenses     ♀  
David D'Arcy  Non Party/New Vision Lozenge   159   0.28%   0.01   (1)      No expenses       ♂
Benny Cooney  Non party/Independent Lozenge   130   0.23%   0.01   (1)      No expenses       ♂
Donal Jackson  Non party/Independent Lozenge   101   0.18%   0.01   (1)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 57,525 66.95%

Spoilt votes 661 1.14%

Total poll 58,186 67.72%

* outgoing TD (4)
Final votes required for expenses: 2,877
Candidates: 4 female (♀), 11 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
23 May 2014  caused by death of Nicky McFadden on 23 May 2014

‘Fine Gael go close to winning a remarkable three out of four as Fianna Fáil hang on to a single seat’

There were no Constituency Commission boundary changes here since 2007 and it remained a four-seat constituency.

Fine Gael’s vote was up 7 points and with 1.9 quotas they were well in line for two seats and remarkably were even in contention for a third. James Bannon led the way with 9,129 first preferences and he went on to take the second seat on the sixth count. Outgoing senator Nicky McFadden and Councillor Peter Burke were within 500 votes of one another on the first count and were in a battle with Robert Troy of Fianna Fáil for the final two seats. In the end McFadden took the Athlone seat and Burke lost out to Troy.

Willie Penrose once again topped the poll as the Labour vote was up 9 points but with just 1.3 quotas on the first count the party was unlikely to improve on its single seat. Former Progressive Democrats’ deputy Mae Sexton did poorly, winning just 3,960 first preferences to leave her too far off the pace in seventh place. A more even division of the Labour vote would have given the party a better chance but Penrose’s poll topping performance put an end to that.

The Fianna Fáil vote was down 22 points and with just one quota, one seat was as much as the party could hope for. Its vote was divided among three candidates - the two outgoing deputies Mary O’Rourke and Peter Kelly, along with newcomer Robert Troy. They were not helped by the presence of former party colleague Kevin ‘Boxer’ Moran on the ticket as he was just behind Kelly and outpolled O’Rourke with 3,707 first preferences. Troy was in sixth place ahead of his party colleagues on the first count and he retained his advantage throughout the count and went on to beat Fine Gael for the final seat. He was one of only three new deputies elected for Fianna Fail in this disastrous election.

The Sinn Fein vote doubled in this election and Paul Hogan was just outside the frame in fifth place on the first count with 0.4 quotas. He survived the various counts and was the last candidate eliminated with his transfers favouring fellow Athlone based McFadden.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 04-Mar-24 06:07 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East