ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Mayo


Maigh Eo
Mayo Area (Connaught)

5 Seats 15 Candidates 8 Counts
Electorate: 101,160 Quota: 12,360
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Enda Kenny  Fine Gael Lozenge   17,472   23.56%   1.41   1      Made Quota     1   ♂
* Michael Ring1  Fine Gael Lozenge   13,180   17.77%   1.07   1      Made Quota     2   ♂
Michelle Mulherin  Fine Gael Lozenge   8,851   11.94%   0.72   8      Made Quota     3 ♀  
* Dara Calleary  Fianna Fail Lozenge   8,577   11.57%   0.69   8      Made Quota     4   ♂
* John O'Mahony5  Fine Gael Lozenge   8,667   11.69%   0.70   8      Elected     5   ♂

Michael Kilcoyne  Non party/Independent Lozenge   3,996   5.39%   0.32   (8)      Not Elected       ♂
Jerry Cowley  Labour Lozenge   3,644   4.91%   0.29   (7)      Eliminated       ♂
Rose Conway Walsh  Sinn Féin Lozenge   2,660   3.59%   0.22   (6)      Eliminated     ♀  
Lisa Chambers  Fianna Fail Lozenge   3,343   4.51%   0.27   (5)      Eliminated     ♀  
Therese Ruane  Sinn Féin Lozenge   2,142   2.89%   0.17   (4)      No expenses     ♀  
Martin Daly  Non Party/New Vision Lozenge   893   1.20%   0.07   (3)      No expenses       ♂
John Carey4  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   266   0.36%   0.02   (3)      No expenses       ♂
Loretta Clarke  Non party/Independent Lozenge   218   0.29%   0.02   (3)      No expenses     ♀  
Dermot McDonnell  Non party/Independent Lozenge   216   0.29%   0.02   (3)      No expenses       ♂
Seán Forkin  Non party/Independent Lozenge   29   0.04%   0.00   (3)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 74,154 73.30%

Spoilt votes 641 0.86%

Total poll 74,795 73.94%

* outgoing TD (4)
Final votes required for expenses: 3,091
Candidates: 5 female (♀), 10 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘A record breaking four out of five for Enda Kenny and Fine Gael’

There were no Constituency Commission boundary changes here since 2007 and it remained a five-seat constituency.

This constituency was over as a contest following the first count as the leading five contenders were well clear of the rest of the field.

The Fine Gael vote was up 11 points to a remarkable 65% of the first preference vote and with 3.9 quotas they were on track to succeed in their aim of winning four seats. Enda Kenny topped the poll with 17,472 first preferences, the highest in this election and with 1.4 quotas he took the first seat on the first count. He was joined by Michael Ring who was also elected on the first count. Michelle Mulherin, who lost out in 2007 made no mistake in this election and she was in third place on the first count and went on to take the third seat. John O’Mahony was a surprise winner in 2007 and the former Galway All-Ireland winning manager was in fourth place on the first count and went on take the final seat.

Beverley Flynn contested the 2007 election as an independent candidate and she rejoined Fianna Fáil in April 2008. She announced in December 2010 that she would not be contesting the general election. The Fianna Fáil vote was down 8 points and with just one quota spread over two candidates, one seat was as much as they could hope for. Dara Calleary had won a seat here in 2007 at his first attempt and had performed well in the 30th Dáil. He was in fifth place on the first count and went on to take the fourth seat comfortably and Fianna Fáil’s only seat in Mayo. A late addition to the ticket, Lisa Chambers got 3,343 first preferences to leave her well off the pace in eight place and out of contention.

This was a disappointing performance by Labour with former independent deputy Dr. Jerry Cowley winning just 5% to leave him outside the frame on the first count with 0.3 quotas and out of contention.

Sinn Féin surprisingly ran two female candidates – Rose Conway-Walsh and Thérese Ruane - and between them they got just 6.5% and both were too far off the pace to contest for a seat.

Independent local councillor Michael Kilcoyne had been fancied for a seat in the run up to this election but with just under 4,000 first preferences was outside the frame on the first count with just 0.3 quotas and out of contention.

   ©1998-2023 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 06-Dec-23 05:20 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East