ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Cork North West


Corcaigh Thiar Thuaidh
Cork Area (Munster)

3 Seats 9 Candidates 6 Counts
Electorate: 62,870 Quota: 11,436
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Michael Creed1  Fine Gael Lozenge   10,112   22.11%   0.88   5      Made Quota     1   ♂
* Michael Moynihan2  Fianna Fail Lozenge   8,845   19.34%   0.77   6      Elected     2   ♂
Aine Collins  Fine Gael Lozenge   7,884   17.24%   0.69   6      Elected     3 ♀  

Martin Coughlan  Labour Lozenge   6,421   14.04%   0.56   (6)      Not Elected       ♂
Derry Canty  Fine Gael Lozenge   4,325   9.46%   0.38   (4)      Eliminated       ♂
Des O'Grady  Sinn Féin Lozenge   3,405   7.44%   0.30   (3)      Eliminated       ♂
Daithi O Donnabhain  Fianna Fail Lozenge   2,545   5.56%   0.22   (2)      No expenses       ♂
Anne Foley  People Before Profit Alliance Lozenge   1,552   3.39%   0.14   (1)      No expenses     ♀  
Mark Collins  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   651   1.42%   0.06   (1)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 45,740 72.75%

Spoilt votes 454 0.98%

Total poll 46,194 73.48%

* outgoing TD (2)
Final votes required for expenses: 2,860
Candidates: 2 female (♀), 7 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘First ever woman elected in Cork North-West’

A population of 4,334 from the areas of Kilcullen, Dromore, Mountrivers and Kilshannig were moved to Cork North Central in a change to this constituency’s boundaries since 2007.

This used to be solid Fine Gael territory, with the party taking two of the three seats at each of the six elections of the 1981–1992 period. In 1997 Fianna Fail moved into the majority position and had remained there ever since, but the nationwide swing away from Fianna Fail and towards Fine Gael made it a virtual certainty that Fine Gael would pick up a second seat, and so it did.

Michael Creed was sure to head the poll – though his decision to oppose Enda Kenny in the failed heave of June 2010 may have cost him a junior ministerial position – and the main interest within Fine Gael lay in the race between the other two candidates. In the event Áine Collins won almost twice as many votes as Derry Canty, whose base in the south of the constituency meant that the odds were always against him. Collins, centrally located near Millstreet, became the first woman ever elected for the constituency.

Labour’s Martin Coughlan performed creditably but he needed to do a little better than this to pick up a seat in an area where Labour has had no representation since Paddy McAuliffe lost his seat in 1969.

Fianna Fail’s performance was disastrous by the standards of previous elections but not bad in the context of 2011. Batt O’Keeffe’s arrival in the constituency in 2007, following a redrawing of the boundaries, had caused some upheaval, and he departed in even more turbulent circumstances. During the fateful 18 hours that spelled the end of the government on 19–20 January, he both resigned from government and stated that he would not be contesting the election, leaving the party’s fortunes in Cork North-West in the hands of Michael Moynihan, a TD since 1997. With the aid of nearly 1,700 transfers from his running mate Daithí Ó Donnabháin, Moynihan, well ensconced locally though with no national profile, took the second seat fairly comfortably.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 20-Apr-24 06:37 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East