ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Cork South Central


Corcaigh Theas Lar
Cork Area (Munster)

5 Seats 17 Candidates 12 Counts
Electorate: 91,619 Quota: 10,674
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Micheál Martin  Fianna Fail Lozenge   10,715   16.73%   1.00   1      Made Quota     1   ♂
* Ciaran Lynch  Labour Lozenge   8,481   13.24%   0.79   9      Made Quota     2   ♂
* Simon Coveney  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,447   14.75%   0.89   10      Made Quota     3   ♂
§ Jerry Buttimer  Fine Gael Lozenge   7,128   11.13%   0.67   11      Made Quota     4   ♂
* Michael McGrath2  Fianna Fail Lozenge   7,221   11.28%   0.68   12      Elected     5   ♂

Chris O'Leary  Sinn Féin Lozenge   5,250   8.20%   0.49   (12)      Not Elected       ♂
* Deirdre Clune  Fine Gael Lozenge   5,650   8.82%   0.53   (10)      Eliminated     ♀  
Paula Desmond  Labour Lozenge   3,388   5.29%   0.32   (8)      Eliminated     ♀  
Mick Finn  Non party/Independent Lozenge   2,386   3.73%   0.22   (7)      Eliminated       ♂
§ Dan Boyle3  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   1,640   2.56%   0.15   (6)      No expenses       ♂
David McCarthy2  Non Party/New Vision Lozenge   880   1.37%   0.08   (5)      No expenses       ♂
Ted Neville  Non party/Independent Lozenge   523   0.82%   0.05   (5)      No expenses       ♂
Diarmaid O Cadhla  Non party/An Chomhdhail Phobail | People's Convention Lozenge   508   0.79%   0.05   (4)      No expenses       ♂
Seán Dunphy  Non party/Independent Lozenge   448   0.70%   0.04   (3)      No expenses       ♂
Eric Isherwood  Non party/Independent Lozenge   193   0.30%   0.02   (2)      No expenses       ♂
Finbarr O'Driscoll  Non party/Independent Lozenge   92   0.14%   0.01   (2)      No expenses       ♂
Gerard Linehan  Non party/Independent Lozenge   90   0.14%   0.01   (2)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 64,040 69.90%

Spoilt votes 624 0.96%

Total poll 64,664 70.58%

* outgoing TD (5)
§ outgoing Senator
Final votes required for expenses: 2,669
Candidates: 2 female (♀), 15 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘Fianna Fáil hold two seats in party leader’s constituency’

There were no changes to this urban constituency’s boundaries since 2007.

In an election of such upheaval, the big story here was ‘hardly any change’. Four of the five incumbents were re-elected, and there was no change of seats between parties. Moreover, it was possibly Fianna Fail’s best result in the entire country, showing that Micheál Martin’s accession to the party leadership certainly had some impact. The party’s vote dropped by a mere 16 per cent on 2007 – the second smallest in the country – and it managed to hold both of the seats it won in 2007, one of only two constituencies where it did not lose a seat. Martin himself headed the poll – one of only two Fianna Fail candidates nationwide to do this – but the real test was whether the other Fianna Fail incumbent Michael McGrath, sometimes tipped as a future party leader himself, would join him in the Dáil. He did so with surprising ease, finishing over 2,000 votes ahead of the runner-up.

This runner-up was Sinn Fein’s Chris O’Leary, who had switched both party and constituency since 2007, when he won a mere 1,503 votes as a Green candidate in Cork North-Central. Now he won more than three times as many votes as Green Senator Dan Boyle, whose defeat in 2007 had been one of the shocks of that election but whose support now plunged to a meagre 1,640 votes, only 500 more than he had received when he first stood way back in 1992.

The two parties of the incoming government had unspectacular results. The third seat that Fine Gael had targeted never came into view. Jerry Buttimer increased his own vote impressively and took the fourth seat, but his victim was Fine Gael incumbent Deirdre Clune, who has now been elected twice (1997 and 2007) but has never been re-elected. The Fine Gael vote management here was poor, in contrast to the machine-like efficacy achieved in most other constituencies, but even perfect vote management probably would not have delivered three seats on this occasion.

Labour doubled its vote, but the effect was only to turn a rather marginal seat into a safe one. Ciarán Lynch added over 3,000 votes to his 2007 tally, but it was to be his sister-in-law from Cork North-Central who got the call when the junior ministries were allocated.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 25-May-24 03:28 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East